Nam June Paik Award 2018


Dr. Fritz Behrens, Sondra Perry. Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Sondra Perry wins the 9th Nam June Paik Award, the Kunststiftung NRW’s (Arts Foundation North Rhine-Westphalia’s) international media art prize!



The Nam June Paik Award was inaugurated in 2002 by the Kunststiftung NRW and since then has been awarded to outstanding artists from all over the world, who – very much in the spirit of the pioneer and true avantgardist, Nam June Paik – take risks, bridge cultural boundaries and whose work is transdisciplinary. The foundations’ award includes prize money of € 25,000 and is geared towards the time-based contextualisation of media art.


An international panel of experts comprising Karen Archey, curator for contemporary art and time-based media at the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, Mark Beasley, curator for media art and performance at the Hirshhorn Museum, Washington, Mélanie Bouteloup, director of the Bétonsalon – Center for Art and Research, Paris, Katerina Gregos, freelance curator and author, Brussels and Krist Gruijthuijsen, director of the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin decided upon the winner at the Westfälischer Kunstverein in Münster, where the 2018 Nam June Paik Award Show is being held.



The panel’s findings:


"The jury is pleased to announce the selection of Sondra Perry as the winner of the 2018 Nam June Paik Award. Perry distinguished herself with her complex investigation into subjectivity and technological representation through 3D animation. Perry’s video installation “IT’S IN THE GAME ’17” (2017) weaves a narrative originating with the relationship between her and her twin brother, whose likeness was unjustly appropriated by Electronic Arts, a video game company, as a part of an animated basketball game. A former uncompensated college basketball player for Georgia Southern University, Perry’s brother accompanies her on a trip to the Metropolitan Museum, where they inspect its ethnographic collection plucked from African, Middle Eastern and Southern American nations.
Perry’s work highlights the enduring issue of the exploitation of the black diaspora as public material without due compensation. By inverting her brother’s avatar and showing an “inside-out” view of his hip joint, the work further raises questions surrounding the representation of the body within digital technologies, its simultaneous likeness and uncanny abjection. She further considers the discrepancy between the physical experience and understanding of cultural artifacts and their digital representation. In addition, by referencing the ethnographic museum and the appropriation of her brother’s image by a corporation, Perry bridges the colonial and imperial roots of this history with its enduring contemporary manifestation.


The jury would like to further congratulate the nominated artists Andreas Angeladakis (b. 1968, GR, lives in Athens), Melanie Bonajo (b. 1978, NL, lives in Amsterdam), Antoine Catala (b. 1974, F, lives in New York), and Hanne Lippard (b. 1984, GB, NO national, lives in Berlin) for the outstanding quality of their work. Their excellent contributions provided backdrop for a spirited discussion among the jury. We wish them the utmost best in their future endeavors."



V.l.n.r./F.l.t.r.: Dr. Fritz Behrens, Krist Gruijthuijsen, Mark Beasley, Dorothee Mosters, Sondra Perry, Antoine Catala, Hanne Lippard, Andreas Angelidakis. Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.




Sondra Perry - Nam June Paik Award 2018 from Kunststiftung NRW on Vimeo.



Sondra Perry, Foto/Photo: Hubertus Huvermann



Sondra Perry (b. 1986, Perth Amboy, New Jersey) graduated from Columbia University, New York and studied at the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Madison, Maine. Her solo shows include »Typhoon coming on«, Serpentine Sackler Gallery, London, 2018, »Eclogue for [in]HABITABILITY«, Seattle Art Museum, 2017 and »Resident Evil«, The Kitchen, New York, 2016. She engages critically with the construct of Blackness in her videos, sculptures and installations. Often based on her own experience, she investigates the representation, narratives and ideas of and about black American identities and their life worlds. Her particular focus is upon the connection between new technology and the representation and concomitant (self-)assurance of identities through them.



Find all videos of the shortlisted artists here >



For more information contact:
Jenni Henke
henke@westfaelischer-kunstverein.de
Tel: +49 (0)251 46157



Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



V.l.n.r./F.l.t.r.: Kristina Scepanski, Direktorin/Director Westfälischer Kunstverein; Dr. Fritz Behrens, Präsident/President Kunststiftung NRW; Dorothee Mosters, Expertin Visuelle Kunst/Expert Visual Arts Kunststiftung NRW; Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Airchina (l. Nikolai Szymanski, r. Timo Hein), Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Nam June Paik Award – International Media Art Award of the Arts Foundation North Rhine-Westphalia Award ceremony at Erbdrostenhof, Münster Andreas Angelidakis, Melanie Bonajo, Antoine Catala, Hanne Lippard, Sondra Perry. Photos: Joachim Busch




Artforum   Artnews   Art-in.de   Artrabbit.com   Kulturport.de   Monopol   Westfälische Nachrichten



NJPA 2018, Gewinnerin
 

NJPA 2018, Winner

Nam June Paik Award 2018


Dr. Fritz Behrens, Sondra Perry. Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Sondra Perry gewinnt den 9. Nam June Paik Award – Internationaler Medienkunstpreis der Kunststiftung NRW!



Der Nam June Paik Award wurde 2002 von der Kunststiftung NRW ins Leben gerufen und zeichnet
seitdem herausragende internationale Künstler*innen-Positionen aus, die im Sinne des Pioniers und wahren Avantgardisten Nam June Paik Wagnisse eingehen, kulturelle Grenzen überbrücken und transdisziplinär arbeiten. Mit 25.000 Euro Preisgeld dotiert, fokussiert der stiftungseigene Award die zeitbasierte Kontextualisierung von Medienkunst.


Eine internationale, hochkarätige Jury bestehend aus Karen Archey, Kuratorin für Gegenwartskunst und zeitbasierte Medien, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; Mark Beasley, Kurator für Medienkunst und Performance, Hirshhorn Museum, Washington; Mélanie Bouteloup, Direktorin Bétonsalon – Center for Art and Research, Paris; Katerina Gregos, Freie Kuratorin und Autorin, Brüssel; sowie Krist Gruijthuijsen, Direktor KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, entschied im Westfälischen Kunstverein in Münster, dem Ausrichtungsort der Nam June Paik Award Preisausstellung 2018, über die Gewinnerin.



Die Jurybegründung:


„Perry stach insbesondere durch ihre vielschichtige Auseinandersetzung mit Subjektivität und technologischer Repräsentation durch 3DAnimation hervor. Ihre Videoinstallation „IT’S IN THE GAME ’17“ (2017) spinnt ein Narrativ, das auf dem Verhältnis zwischen ihr und ihrem Zwillingsbruder beruht – dessen Abbild wurde von EA Sports-Spiele unrechtmäßig für ein animiertes Basketballspiel verwendet. Perrys Bruder, ein ehemaliger unbezahlter Basketballspieler für die Georgia Southern University, begleitet sie auf einen Ausflug in das Metropolitan Museum. Hier besichtigen sie die ethnografische Sammlung, die sich an afrikanischen, nahöstlichen und südamerikanischen Kulturen bereicherte.
Perrys Arbeit thematisiert, wie schwarze Körper als öffentlicher Rohstoff ohne Entschädigung der betreffenden Personen angeeignet werden und stellt Fragen hinsichtlich der kommerziellen Ausbeutung des eigenen digitalen Abbilds durch Avatare. Sie kritisiert die Diskrepanz zwischen dem physischen Erleben und Verständnis kultureller Artefakte und ihrer digitalen Repräsentation. Indem Perry auf das ethnografische Museum und die Appropriation des Abbildes ihres Bruders durch ein Unternehmen verweist, spannt sie darüber hinaus einen Bogen zwischen den kolonialen und imperialistischen Wurzeln dieser Geschichte und ihren anhaltenden, gegenwärtigen Auswirkungen.


Überdies möchte die Jury den nominierten Künstler*innen Andreas Angelidakis (*1968, GR, lebt in Athen), Melanie Bonajo (*1978, NL, lebt in Amsterdam), Antoine Catala (*1974, F, lebt in New York) und Hanne Lippard (*1984, GB, Nationalität) zu der herausragenden Qualität ihrer Arbeiten gratulieren. Ihre hervorragenden Beiträge waren Gegenstand einer angeregten Diskussion unter den Jurymitgliedern. Sie wünschen ihnen für ihre zukünftigen Unternehmungen nur das Beste.“



V.l.n.r./F.l.t.r.: Dr. Fritz Behrens, Krist Gruijthuijsen, Mark Beasley, Dorothee Mosters, Sondra Perry, Antoine Catala, Hanne Lippard, Andreas Angelidakis. Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.




Sondra Perry - Nam June Paik Award 2018 from Kunststiftung NRW on Vimeo.



Sondra Perry, Foto/Photo: Hubertus Huvermann



Sondra Perry (*1986, Perth Amboy, New Jersey) graduierte an der Columbia University, New York und studierte an der Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Madison, Maine. Zu ihren letzten
Einzelausstellungen zählen „Typhoon coming on“, Serpentine Sackler Gallery, London, 2018, „Eclogue for [in]HABITABILITY, Seattle Art Museum, 2017 und „Resident Evil“, The Kitchen, New York, 2016. Sie setzt sich in ihren Videoarbeiten, Skulpturen und Installationen kritisch mit dem Konstrukt von Blackness auseinander. Oftmals ausgehend von ihrer eigenen Erfahrung untersucht sie die Repräsentation, die Narrative und Vorstellungen von und über schwarz-amerikanische Identitäten und Lebenswelten. Hierbei gilt ihr besonderer Fokus dem Zusammenhang zwischen neuen Technologien und der Darstellung und Selbstvergewisserung von Identitäten darin.



Alle Videos über die Werke der nominierten Künstler*innen finden Sie hier >



Die Preisausstellung Nam June Paik Award 2018 ist vom 10. November 2018 bis 3. Februar im Westfälischen Kunstverein in Münster zu sehen.



Parallel:

Tamaki Watanabe und Walter Zurborg: „idle_listening“
Preisträger Nam June Paik Award National 2016


Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
Jenni Henke
T +49 251 46157
henke@westfaelischer-kunstverein.de



Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



V.l.n.r./F.l.t.r.: Kristina Scepanski, Direktorin/Director Westfälischer Kunstverein; Dr. Fritz Behrens, Präsident/President Kunststiftung NRW; Dorothee Mosters, Expertin Visuelle Kunst/Expert Visual Arts Kunststiftung NRW; Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Airchina (l. Nikolai Szymanski, r. Timo Hein), Foto/Photo: Joachim Busch.



Nam June Paik Award – Internationaler Medienkunstpreis der Kunststiftung NRW Preisverleihung im Erbdrostenhof, Münster Freitag, 9. November 2018. Fotos: Joachim Busch




Artforum   Artnews   Art-in.de   Artrabbit.com   Kulturport.de   Monopol   Westfälische Nachrichten



NJPA 2018, Gewinnerin
 

NJPA 2018, Winner