Haus der Stiftungen in NRW | Düsseldorf


The painter and sculptor Imi Knoebel has been awarded a very special honour: the French Ambassador to Germany, Philippe Etienne, has personally presented the artist with the medal of an Officer of the Order of Arts and Letters. The presentation ceremony was held on Saturday, 9th July 2016 in the Johannes Rau Saal at Kunststiftung NRW – an appropriate venue as the Kunststiftung had played a decisive role in bringing the project to fruition which formed the basis for this distinguished award.


Imi Knoebel was responsible for a symbol of Franco-German friendship and European peace last year by donating three stained glass windows he had created himself to the Joan of Arc chapel at Reims Cathedral. On 11th May 2015 the project’s joint patrons, Laurent Fabius, at the time still Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development of the Republic of France and Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany, gave their endorsement to the historical significance of this cultural-political event by attending the inauguration ceremony.


From left to right: Philippe Etienne, Imi Knoebel | Photo: Susanne Diesner


A century after the First World War, the primary catastrophe of the Modern Age, the transfer of this work by a German artist to the French state symbolized the closure of a wound which German troops inflicted on the cultural heart of France in 1914. This gesture of restoration and reconciliation was supported by the spirit of the project: the desire to strengthen Franco-German friendship, to make a statement for peace, create a symbol of hope and above all to bolster younger generations in thinking beyond borders in framing and living in a Europe of culture and shared human values. In its acceptance of this gift, which will outlast generations as part of its national cultural heritage, France has given its emphatic support to this concept.


From left to right: Laurent Innocenzi, Dr. Ursula Sinnreich, Imi Knoebel, Philippe Etienne | Photo: Susanne Diesner


Since then the windows’ beautiful colours and strong light have had a magical influence on the atmosphere of what was once the coronation site for the Kings of France. Flying, floating and glowing particles elevate themselves above all languages, address all cultures and religions and communicate a sense of unity within diversity.


The Knoebel family | Photo: Susanne Diesner


Kunststiftung NRW supported the Reims project by Imi Knoebel together with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Both institutions played a key role in its realisation.


From left to right: Dr. Ursula Sinnreich, Dr. Marc Jan Eumann, Philippe Etienne, Imi Knoebel | Photo: Susanne Diesner


The Ordre des Arts et des Lettres has existed since 1957. It is awarded to those who have distinguished themselves in artistic or literary fields or through their contribution to the dissemination of literature and the arts in France and around the world. Holders of the order from German-speaking nations include; Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Max Frisch, Michael Haneke, Hans Hartung, Wolfgang Wagner and Peter Zadek.


Further information about the project in Reims can be found here.

Haus der Stiftungen in NRW | Düsseldorf


Dem Maler und Bildhauer Imi Knoebel ist eine besondere Ehre zuteil geworden: Aus den Händen des französischen Botschafters in Deutschland, Philippe Etienne, hat der international renommierte Künstler die Insignien eines Offiziers im Orden „des Arts et des Lettres“ empfangen. Die feierliche Verleihung fand am Samstag, 9. Juli 2016 im Johannes Rau Saal der Kunststiftung NRW statt – und dies nicht ohne Grund, hatte die Stiftung doch entscheidenden Anteil an der Realisierung eines Projekts, das Auslöser war für die hohe Auszeichnung.


Imi Knoebel hat im vergangenen Jahr mit der Schenkung dreier von ihm geschaffenen Glasfenster für die Jeanne d’Arc-Kapelle der Kathedrale von Reims ein Zeichen für die Freundschaft zwischen Deutschland und Frankreich und für den Frieden in Europa gesetzt. Am 11. Mai 2015 würdigten die beiden Schirmherren des Projekts, Laurent Fabius, zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch Minister für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten und Internationale Entwicklung der Französischen Republik, und Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Bundesminister des Auswärtigen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, diesen kulturpolitischen Akt von historischer Bedeutung mit ihrer Anwesenheit beim Festakt zur Einweihung.


Von links: Philippe Etienne, Imi Knoebel | Foto: Susanne Diesner


Ein Jahrhundert nach dem 1. Weltkrieg, Urkatastrophe der Moderne, wurde mit der Übergabe des Werks eines deutschen Künstlers an den französischen Staat symbolisch eine Wunde geschlossen, die deutsche Truppen dem kulturellen Herzstück Frankreichs 1914 geschlagen haben. Diese Geste der Wiedergutmachung und der Versöhnung wurde getragen vom Geist des Projekts, dem „Esprit du projet“: dem Wunsch, die deutsch-französische Freundschaft zu stärken, ein Zeichen zu setzen für den Frieden, ein Symbol der Hoffnung zu schaffen und vor allem die junge Generation darin zu bestärken, über Grenzen hinweg auf der Ebene der Kultur und gemeinsam geteilter humaner Werte ein Europa der Ideen zu gestalten und zu leben. Mit der Annahme des Geschenks, das als nationales Kulturgut Generationen überdauern wird, hat Frankreich ein Ausrufezeichen hinter diesen Gedanken gesetzt.


Von links: Laurent Innocenzi, Dr. Ursula Sinnreich, Imi Knoebel, Philippe Etienne | Foto: Susanne Diesner


Seither bestimmen die Fenster mit ihrer Farbschönheit und Leuchtkraft auf magische Weise die Atmosphäre der ehemaligen Krönungsstätte der französischen Könige. Fliegende, schwebende, leuchtende Partikel erheben sich über jede Sprache, richten sich an alle Kulturen und Religionen und vermitteln eine Idee von Einheit in der Vielfalt.


Familie Knoebel | Foto: Susanne Diesner


Die Kunststiftung NRW hat das Reims-Projekt von Imi Knoebel gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt gefördert. Beide Institutionen hatten einen entscheidenden Anteil an der Realisierung.


Von links: Dr. Ursula Sinnreich, Dr. Marc Jan Eumann, Philippe Etienne, Imi Knoebel | Foto: Susanne Diesner


Den Orden „des Arts et des Lettres“ gibt es seit 1957. Er wird an Personen verliehen, die sich durch ihr Schaffen im künstlerischen oder literarischen Bereich oder durch ihren Beitrag zur Ausstrahlung der Künste und der Literatur in Frankreich und in der Welt ausgezeichnet haben. Träger des Ordens aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum sind u.a. Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Max Frisch, Michael Haneke, Hans Hartung, Wolfgang Wagner und Peter Zadek.


Nähere Informationen zum Reims-Projekt hier.