The directorate consists of an active honorary President and the Secretary General, who is chiefly responsible for running the foundation. The directorate is responsible for its artistic policy, finance, administration and personnel and represents the foundation in public.


Dr. Fritz Behrens, President

President of Kunststiftung NRW since 2011. He studied Law and Political Sciences at Göttingen University, was Chief of Staff to Minister President Johannes Rau, Government President in Düsseldorf, Minister of Justice for the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, Minister of the Interior and Justice and Interior Minister for the state of North Rhine-Westphalia. From 2005 to 2012 he chaired the Culture Committee in the parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Dr. Ursula Sinnreich, Secretary General

Appointed to Kunststiftung NRW’s directorate in 2011. After studying Art History, Literature, Comparative Literature and Philosophy in London, Paris, Aix-en-Provence and Giessen, she worked for a range of museums and universities and as a theatre dramaturg. She was appointed Director of the Centre for International Light Art Unna in 2007.